Changing the 'titles' fontsize when using 'dbplot'

Topics: IRIS in General, Reporting
Nov 3, 2014 at 10:18 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to IRIS and have a quick question.

Basically, my goal is to plot some IRFs with the names of the different variables using the 'dbplot' function.

The only issue I have is that when I use the option 'titles', these variable names appear too small for my purposes.

Is there any quick/easy way to increase the fontsize of the variable 'titles' on the plot?

Below is the relevant section of my code:

plotrng = startDate : startDate+40;
series = {'100(r^4-1)','100(pic^4-1)','100(y-1)', ...
'100(rf^4-1)','100(rg^4-1)','100
(c-1)'};
dbplot(s,plotrng,series,'tight',true,'titles=', {'r (annualized)' 'pic (annualized)' 'y' 'rf' 'rg' 'c'});
ftitle('Monetary Policy Shock');

Thanks in advance for any help (and sorry if the question is too 'basic'!)
Coordinator
Nov 4, 2014 at 1:53 AM
Welcome to IRIS. The answer depends on what version of MATLAB you're using because of the change from HG1 to HG2 recently. Suppose you have a plot like this:
[fh,ah] = dbplot(d,{'X','Y'},qq(2007,1):qq(2017,4))
With HG2 (by requirement in R2014b or optionally in earlier versions) you can use
ah{fnum}(snum).Title.FontSize = K ;
to set the font size for subplot snum of figure fnum to size K.

With HG1 I'm not sure. You can't set title font size in HG1 without a handle to the title, as far as I know, and dbplot() doesn't return handles to titles. If you are using an older version of MATLAB then your best option is probably to use qreport. Technically dbplot calls qreport, but if you want control over the way things look then it's usually easier to move to qreport directly.
Marked as answer by jaromirbenes on 11/3/2014 at 6:38 PM
Coordinator
Nov 4, 2014 at 2:38 AM
Edited Nov 4, 2014 at 2:40 AM
Hi